Chocolate Box Memories

Weekend chocolates and candies were one of my favourite sweet treats when I was a youngster; I especially liked the taste of the perilous green ones. There was always a box in my stocking each Christmas, although the stocking was in reality a pillowcase. The Christmas memories unfold and roll back into one happy memory. Family, friends, fun, laughter, the occasional tear, frost, snow, school concerts. I also remember singing on the bridge at Ironbridge each Christmas Eve and singing carols in local pubs, hospitals and old people’s homes. This started off as fun but because money was often forced on us we ended up giving money to charity too. So many happy faces over the years…

The chocolates even remind me of the class bully at my junior school. One day I had just collected a chair from the side of the room and got to my desk with it and he appeared at my side and ordered me to give the chair to him. Without thinking I answered ‘no’ which was quite out of character for me because I was really shy and timid and wouldn’t say boo to a goose. He put on an angry stance, went red in the face and stomped off without saying anything. He never bothered me again until one Christmas when I had been given some weekend chocolates by one of my school friends. He asked (nicely) if he could have one. Due to his circumstances I knew he would never have the opportunity to have such things so I said yes and he said thank you. Lessons learned for both of us I think.

The pink Quality Street tin on the right also brings back memories, with its Victorian images and chocolates double wrapped in foil and cellophane. I used to try and smooth the foil out as flat as possible, hopefully without a single crease, then fold it up as small as possible. I also had fun experimenting with the cellophane layer in front of a camera lens. I remember the purple wrapper created very interesting effects on architecture. In one of my cupboards I still have one of those old tins, although now it is filled with buttons rather than chocolates.

All those years ago I didn’t appreciate how many memories a box of chocolates could hold locked up inside…

One thought on “Chocolate Box Memories

  1. Well, chocolate is always the best, isn’t it? I like the bully story – a lesson learned indeed! I remember those Quality Street tins, and how, years ago, on a Christmas trip to England, my firend and I were sitting in the back of the car, senselessly filling up on the Quality Street candies. It was wonderful!
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    Cellophane layer in front of the camera lens…What a beautiful idea! Thank you Cherry
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterAnyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    It’s amazing what memories a little box of beautifully decorated chocolates might evoke. I think there has to be some sort of magical ingredient in chocolate. It carries so many meanings for so many people. And – I love the story about the bully..and how you ultimately became ‘friends’.
    Gorgeous..sweet (no pun intended) image!!!
    August 24, 2011 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    Wuality street, I had that a lot as a child, you bring back memories to me
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterChantal

    We always had Black Magic chocolates at Christmas, I remember the black box so well. My husband is passionate about quality street and I must confess I don’t think I had ever had one until I met him. I remember too hard candies smelling of cinnamon and cloves. Now I want to they weekend chocolates. Great post.
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterKath

    So, life really IS like a box of chocolates, Cherry! 🙂 I love it. I’ll keep my eyes and ears open for the Quality Street variety…a delicacy I’ve not had the pleasure of experiencing. There’s a first time for everything, of course.
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    memories from food was a delicious way to start this day. thanks for opening the tin and the box for us all!
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered Commenterhoney

    I love that your Christmas stocking was a pillow case!!! Fond memories brought back by something as simple as a chocolate box or tin…Quality Street we do have in Canada but I had never heard of Weekend (I see it is made by Macintosh?? If my eyes are reading that correctly…the only Macintosh we have in Canada is the creamy toffee). Much life is shared over chocolates/sweets and the fact that you gave your “bully” one of your chocolates when he asked politely speaks volumes…it would have been so easy to say “no” given your past history wouldn’t it? And yet you shared….what a kind child you were — I expect nothing has changed in that regard. xo
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterSherry Smyth

    I think of chocolate as medicine. I love chocolate covered coconut. Can’t find them much anymore.
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterPuna

    Oh Puna, you’ve made me think of chocolate covered ginger that we buy at Rheo Thompson Chocolatier in Stratford, Ontario …. To. Die. For.

    xo
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterKath

    I’ve never seen candy quite like that. The pillow case stocking reminds me that we used pillow cases when we went trick or treating on Halloween. I can’t believe how much candy we brought home!
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    Carola – Chocolate does have that something doesn’t it. I am glad it brought back memories for you too.

    Anyes – Give it a try and see what results you get 🙂

    Marcie – I agree there must be some magical ingredient in chocolate, it evokes many things to many people.

    Chantal – I hope they are happy memories/

    Kath – Mmm Black Magic, another of my favourites in my youth. I had forgotten about them until you mentioned them…

    Ginnie – It does seem life is like a box of chocolates 😉 The Quality Street flavours have changed over the years, some of my favourites are missing :-/

    Honey – I am glad you enjoyed your start to the day.

    Sherry – Thank you for your sweet and kind words 🙂 Mackintosh was taken over, by Nestle I think… Somewhere along the way Weekend Chocolates disappeared.

    Puna – I will have to remember that medicinal advice 😉 I have not seen chocolate covered coconut, it sounds interesting.

    Kath – Chocolate covered ginger, now we are talking 😉

    Maery – When I was a youngster trick or treating didn’t take place in the UK. It does now and the kids bring large carrier bags.
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    You’ve touched off my chocolate craving with that photo! The chocolates I remember most came in a little cardboard box with a string handle. They were handed out at church when I was a little girl. The sad thing was that not everyone got a treat…only those who had attended Sunday School for six Sunday’s prior to that special Sunday before Christmas. Believe me, there were many hurt feelings and sad faces when some child didn’t receive a little box. Whoever made up that rule must have had a Scrooge heart. Now at our church, anyone who is there on that special day gets a treat. Farmergal
    August 24, 2011 | Unregistered Commenterfarmergal

    Famergal – That doesn’t sound like a Christian thing to do, it sounds a bit like trying to buy the children so they will attend every week. I agree with you, they must have had a Scrooge heart.
    August 25, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    For some reason I don’t remember having much chocolate at home while growing up. I do remember my aunt having a Whitman’s Sampler quite often at her house. I would be able to choose one from the box…and I would be upset if I didn’t make a good choice! Sometimes you can’t tell from the outside what is in the inside!
    August 27, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    Sue – We only ever got to pick one or two at at time, so we had to choose carefully. I always read the explanations of the chocolates so I could decide the best choice for me. I still do read explanations before I choose and eat just that one chocolate 😉
    August 27, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    I love this story! The memories, the bully who turned out to be not quite so bad, the things we hold onto. And, of course, I love chocolate….
    August 29, 2011 | Unregistered Commenterkelly

    I still buy my Dad Quality Street at Christmas. It seems to be a tradition that is long held and these days well fought, as they are not so easy to get hold of.
    Chocolate Boxes ….. hmmmmm they spell Christmas for me.
    August 30, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterMarie

    Kelly – I think his bullying was a cry for help and recognition – to get noticed. I guess the chocolate worked for him too 🙂

    Marie – Quality Street is still easy to get over here although I prefer the types of chocolates in my youth rather than the current selection :-/
    September 1, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

Leave a Reply

