My Lifelong Passion for Books

As Valentine’s Day is almost upon us I considered writing of love or other obvious themes for the day, such as flowers, hearts or chocolate.  But I realised that most of my thoughts on these subjects would be covered by other people, especially at this time of year.  Whilst I was still considering what to write about, I received an email at work which reminded me of the Quick Reads Initiative and the recent 2012 releases, this in turn reminded me of World Book Day and got me thinking of my lifelong passion for books and reading.

In my teens and early twenties the novels I read were mainly science fiction and fantasy but I also read about nature, science, strange facts, unexplained phenomena and other related subjects.  One of my favourite magazines at the time was Omnium which was a mixture of science fact and fiction.  My choice of novels expanded to include history, philosophy, world views; any reading that stretched my mind and got me thinking.

By the time I reached my thirties, my reading had further diversified to include books and magazines on photography (digital and film) so that I could understand the principles and explore the different techniques.  I also read computer manuals from cover to cover (almost) to teach me how the computer operating system worked and how to write code to magically produce web pages.

In my forties I gained an interest in family history, stately homes, castles and gardens and started to read about those.  I always pick up the guidebook for the places I visit, to give me background information which enhances my enjoyment of the visit.  Whenever I visit another country I pick up a travel guide book to give a sense of history and culture, so I can enjoy the country even more.

My recent readings have mostly been on the theme of history, science, philosophy and world views, interspersed with one or two mystery thrillers.  My readings always include alternative ideas to the accepted view of the world, which allows me to expand my horizons.

I knew I would enjoy the first book that was chosen for the Vision & Verb book group, especially because I was sure that when  I had finished it ( which I have now ) I would love to hear what the other V&V ladies had to say and discuss the themes and ideas with them.  For me, one of the best things about books is being able to discuss them, or what you have learned from them, with other people.

I think other people would describe my reading as eclectic/eccentric, maybe it is…

I will leave you to wonder which book I am currently reading…

One thought on “My Lifelong Passion for Books

  1. What a beautiful library Cherry, I’d love to spend hours lost in there 🙂

    I will guess you are now reading an historic novel…just a hunch, no reason for my guess. I hope you’ll give the answer later. Enjoy your reading and your week-end.
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterAnyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    that photo works so well with the vignette, such a good mood! Love it
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterChantal

    This is so encouraging and inspiring. In younger years – I was a voracious reader – but I don’t seem to find the time to do so anymore. Love how you read to learn and broaden your horizons. And – I’m looking forward to the book group discussion here. Great fun!!!
    February 12, 2012 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    I love this, both the image and the narrative! I am a life-long reader and a voracious one. I am always reading . . . a book. Someone offered me an electronic reader and I said “no, thank you, i prefer to turn paper pages with book in hand.” I am glad to read about someone who treasures books as I do. Thanks for sharing this lovely story of your passion for books! Your library is beautiful, so warm and inviting.
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterLauren Blackwell (redleash)

    My dad would just love your image of a room filled with books, Cherry. In his day he made many a bookshelf, floor to ceiling, along the upstairs hallway of the last family home we enjoyed. Those hallways were beautifully lit by natural light streaming through the nearby study nook, full of windows. What memories.

    Like Marcie, I used to read so much more than I do now…books, that is. However, like you, I always pick up the pamphlets on places we visit…and we have one long shelf of all the DK travel books I brought with me from America. I can study them for hours. What I love about YOU, however, is that you have so many themes and categories in your repertoire. Very ecclectic, indeed. Bravo to you.
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    Wonderful picture, I would love to sit and read there. I love reading but have trouble finding the time for it. I get distracted to easily.
    February 12, 2012 | Registered CommenterPetra

    how great to read a post about love of books as opening the cover to thoughts of valentine’s day. took us all on the journey of reading memories that surely bring smiles to all who visit the blog and have enjoyed the adventures that pictures and words have taken us on all of our lives.

    after all, vision and very is all about…well…reading the writings and enjoying the photos that transport, inspire, and delight.

    perfect post!
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered Commenterhoney

    I’m afraid I’m a little like Petra; finding myself easily distracted when reading. I like the inviting warmth of your image.
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    That library sure looks inviting – I’d love to sit there spending hours with my nose in a good book. Lovely.
    February 12, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    Love that library! I’ve been an avid reader until my forties, then really almost stopped… still have to find out why… Maybe the Internet is stealing time or it’s just a (long) moment of rest 🙂 I sometimes do read a book, mainly on photography though.
    February 13, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSilvia

    Wow, how many books! I used to read a lot, but now I’m stuck. Only reading professional books (not inspiring most of the time…, so I don’t do that a lot). I miss reading what I like a lot! But I love to go to the library and be surrounded by books. Would love to have a library at home…
    February 13, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterJozica @ Creatissimo

    Thank you all for your thoughts I have very much enjoyed reading them. The library is in Leeds Castle although I wish it was mine, you would never get me out of there 😉

    Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla
    February 14, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    Ooops! I managed to delete the line that said that link leads to the current book I am reading.
    February 14, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    Cherry, I have loved to read since I was small and came to love first libraries and later book stores.

    I am amazed that you love science fiction and Fantasy. Not that there is anything wrong with it. I have read and enjoyed it over the years, tho some has been not so good also ^_^. It’s just not many people seem to admit it. I don’t know if you read any of my book reviews I did as posts on nobody important?

    I also have a soft spot for Jane Austen and a weakness for romance novels. Usually revolving round someone’s fiancé being unfaithful and them jetting off to London or NY where they get a job as a baby sitter/bookseller/fashion writer/sales person and fall in love with the boss/widower with kids/some quirky guy …

    Tho if you still like science fiction/fantasy then I can really recommend Wen Spencer’s “Tinker” series that has a likeable strong female lead… and romance.

    I too was interested in “weird stuff” and books about it. Lyall Watson was one author I read . I remember there was this magazine in the 80s that has articles on things like spontaneous human combustion and strange unexplained things, disappearances and appearances. I must admit I had to come to take them with a pinch of salt.

    I really found some of Deborah Tannen’s books about language and communication really interesting; “That’s not what I meant” and “You just don’t understand”.
    October 9, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMoggsy

    Hi Moggsy, it is lovely to see you here 🙂

    I had a very similar discussion about science fiction and fantasy books with Don QuiScottie just last week. I also remember a quote a made a few years ago when asked which of the two genres I liked best. My answer was ‘I like them both for different reasons, Sci Fi makes you think and fantasy is escapism and reflects human emotions.

    Yes I did read your book reviews 🙂 I don’t always post about all the books I read because I know they would cause problems in certain quarters. As I said in this post my recent reading has been rather eclectic and quite varied but mostly factual/philosophical/spiritual.

    I think you must have read the same ‘weird stuff’ magazine that I did. I also used to read a magazine called Omnium which was a mixture of Science Fiction and Science Fact, it was full of interesting stories and articles. I too read Lyall Watson and I still have his book Supernature and I still dip into it from time to time.

    The Deborah Tannen books sound really interesting and after looking on Google, she seems to have summed up thing perfectly 😉
    October 9, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    Books cause problems? Like people would say OMG you read that! Now I will be worrying that if I recommend something I will get you in trouble ^_^

    The Deborah Tannen books _were_ interesting and make sense. Once or twice I found myself thinking, “Well that explains that.” about some past experience, or recollection.

    I know what you mean about good science fiction making a person think. Taking an idea, going “what if?” and running with it. Tho sometimes if it fixes on dark fears also then it can slide into the horror genre. The “Environmental” ones do that often.

    I do think science fiction can be quite political also some being from a Left Green/Democrat perspective about “punishment” for despoiling the environment, where the oil/chemical corporations are always the baddies and some being from a more Classical Liberal/Libertarian angle. Did you read “Probability Broach” by L.Neil Smith?

    I agree fantasy is more about emotions, maybe romance in both senses and adventure. I think “historically” fantasy is more rounded in some ways because of that. Also that girls maybe get better parts in fantasy, because I think there are more female fantasy writers?

    To be fair tho I think Science Fiction does have some good female characters. Honor Harrington as an example. Elizabeth Moon writes great female characters in both her science fiction and fantasy. I absolutely loved “Sheep Farmer’s Daughter”. Tho that was almost what they call “Military SF” despite being fantasy genre. I can get that tho, I think I read she served in the military before becoming an author.

    I don’t often get the chance to discuss science fiction ^_^

    I guess you are not so into romance novels? They are not all trashy or badly written. I like Sophie Kinsella. Did you read “Twenties Girl”? That I enjoyed and you might like.

    Two non Romance ones I liked were “The Villa in Italy” by Elizabeth Edmonson and “The Book of Tomorrow” by Cecelia Ahern.
    October 10, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMoggsy

    No your recommendations won’t get me into trouble 🙂

    I have read romance novels for example I have read quite a lot of Penny Vincenzi and when I was in a book club I read quite a few for that. I haven’t read many novels at all in the last couple of years. Recent novels I have read are by Kate Mosse and Tom Knox. I enjoyed those.

    You have reminded me I really must get round to finishing of and posting all my reads on a book blog that I started 🙂
    October 10, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

Leave a Reply

