Impatiently Waiting for Spring

A few days ago when I returned home from work I was greeted by a nice surprise, the green shoots of the daffodils in my garden had poked their heads through the soil.  The daffodils will soon be showing their sunny yellow faces, a sure sign that spring is just around the corner.  I have noticed the days getting warmer and drawing out too.  The sun now has his hat on more often.  One of my favourite sounds, the bird’s morning chorus is getting louder and more persistent.

I can see the beginnings of new growth on the trees, waiting to burst forth in all their glory.  I have even seen one or two large bumble bees out and about searching for pollen.

I can almost feel spring in the air…

Spring, with its fresh colours and new growth, brings fresh hope.  Out with the old and in with the new.  I am reminded of woodland walks with spring flowers beneath the boughs of the trees.  I am also reminded that it will soon be possible to visit gardens again; I always miss those visits during the winter months.  I will see again the sun setting behind my oak tree in all its glorious hues.

The thought of spring has even spurred me on to start de-cluttering, spring cleaning and move things on that are no longer required.  I am also inspired to get started on decorating the house and some other general maintenance that needs attention.  It will soon be time to get out in my garden and start tidying that up too by weeding, sorting, pruning and planting.  I am looking forward to sitting in my garden and enjoying soaking up the atmosphere with a good book and a nice cup of tea.  Or perhaps I could be tempted to a glass of wine depending on the time of day.

Spring is almost, but not quite, here…

I am impatiently waiting…

One thought on “Impatiently Waiting for Spring

  1. Just today I wrote my contribution for my upcoming V&V post and it is about spring as well. The impatience, the waiting. I’ve noticed the older I get the more impatient I grow for the arrival of spring. It seems to wake up all of us, wanting to clean and de-clutter… to get rid of the old stuff and make place for the new. Just as you said so beautifully. I can hardly wait either…
    March 4, 2012 | Carola

    Aaaah….you are months – it seems – ahead of us here. We’re still in the midst of this winter that never quite arrived. There were crocuses up for a day..but they’re now gone. I can see it..taste it..feel it – in your words. It’s right around the corner. It’s coming. I – too – am impatiently awaiting the first signs of real spring.
    March 4, 2012 | Marcie

    Like Carola, I was going to post an image of daffodils and talk about Spring! 🙂 That must be what is on all of our minds these days. I take a walk in my developing garden each morning to check the progress of the daffodils. The old, mature ones on the top of the hill have been in bloom for several weeks; providing me bouquets of flowers in my kitchen and my office. The daffodils that I planted last fall – thus the ‘developing’ garden — look like they will pop out in bloom any day now. Like you, I am im-patiently waiting….
    March 4, 2012 | Sue

    I am waiting, too, but know it will be quite a bit longer here for any signs so I sure loved getting a glimpse of your daffodils!
    March 4, 2012 | Susan

    i like the idea of decluttering and enthusiasm no matter what inspires it! i think i will toss some un-necessaries today in the spirit of this lovely post.
    March 4, 2012 | honey

    yes, spring is coming over here too. I can hear the birds, they are all in pairs now. and my dog can’t stop sniffing everywhere. love the picture, so fresh
    March 4, 2012 | Petra

    You and me both, Cherry!
    March 4, 2012 | Mother

    Love your pic! I’m waiting for Spring too! Especially today, which is dark and gloomy and rainy 😦 Great post!
    March 5, 2012 | sil

    The daffodils are a sure sign that’s for sure!
    March 5, 2012 | Gotham Girl aka Robin

    Wonderful image Cherry! I love the perspective and the contrast of the lush green and the bare trees…I love daffodils…always a sign of hope, yes?
    March 6, 2012 | Mary Sherman

    I could swear I left a comment on this post, Cherry, but…where it is, who knows! I’m glad I came back to look. Anyway, I know I read this post on the day and just LOVE for you that you’re this far ahead of us. That means we’ll be not far behind. One way or another, we track each other and our weather patterns. It’s kinda fun. Mind you, I haven’t started de-cluttering yet! 🙂
    March 6, 2012 | Ginnie

    yes, you, me, carola and probably all of us! what i lovely photo, i love the contrast of the daffodils against the still-bare trees. i just bought a bunch at the grocery store, we are not quite there yet in the garden!
    March 6, 2012 | kelly

    I don’t think there’s a bad time in the day to drink wine…I spent a few minutes looking for daffodils last weekend. I’ll have my camera ready…
    March 7, 2012 | Puna

    What is it with Spring that makes our hearts skip a beat at the mere mention of it 😉
    March 7, 2012 | Anyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    Your photo makes me think that I need to put in daffodil bulbs this year so I can be greeted by the sunny yellowness as things warm up next year. I’m jealous of the people who have these flowers and tulips to announce the arrival of Spring. Right now, it’s 20 degrees F so there are no blooms. Such extremes of warm and cold, I’m sure the trees and plants are pretty confused. I hope the Spring and Summer are a bit more predictable than the winter has been.
    You have written beautifully about all the aspects of Spring and the awakening of things to come.
    March 8, 2012 | Maery Rose

    Your image and words made me want to lay down on the grass and look at the beautiful, sunny sky. Relaxing… and exactly what I needed.
    March 19, 2012 | Jozica @ Creatissimo

Leave a Reply

