Daniels Mill

Daniels mill is a watermill hidden within the Shropshire countryside.  The mill still produces flour in the traditional way.  I first visited a couple of years ago and I was quite dismayed after setting out on my travels to realise that I had left my camera at home.  Most unlike me…  I did manage to capture a few photos on my camera phone, but it was nice to go back recently with a real camera in hand.

The water mill is virtually unaltered since the 18th century and has been in the ownership of the same family for over 250 years.  The current mill wheel was installed around the middle of the 19th century to replace an earlier wheel on the same site.

Disastrous floods in 2007 caused major devastation to the mill and the surrounding area, but luckily the mill building was not structurally damaged.  It is amazing to see the mark within the building that shows how far the flood water rose.

The earliest reference to the Mill and land surrounding it appears around the late 15th century, when it was known as ‘Donynges’ or ‘Dunnings’ Mill. It remained in the hands of the estate until the 18th century, and in the early centuries was probably worked by a Journeyman Miller, who would visit the mill when there was work for it to do.

More history can be found here.

A quote from the official website:

The present mill worked until 1957 grinding all kinds of grain for animal feed, but ceased operation on the death of the Miller, the present owner’s Father. A great deal of work has been required to restore both the Mill and the house to its present condition. Great care has been taken with this work (which has been undertaken solely by the owners) to ensure that as much of the original has been preserved and any replacements required have been obtained from demolitions of old properties.

It is a lovely place to visit not only do you get a guided tour that explains the history and how the mill works.  There is also opportunity to walk around the mill pools and through the surrounding woodlands which allow views of the mill from different perspectives.

There is also the opportunity to walk under the viaduct (part of the severn valley railway) and view it from both sides along with trains travelling along the viaduct.  The walk also allows you to see the track and the steam trains at eye level.  The train drivers often blow the trains whistle and wave to visitors as the train passes by.  The flour that the mill produces can be purchased raw or in the form of scones in the tea shop.  I found both my visits interesting on many levels.

One thought on “Daniels Mill

  1. What a beautiful and well kept mill… we have grain mills here a lot
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterChantal

    What a gorgeous old mill and building. Love your sense of adventure…always looking for new places to go..sights to be seen and documented and photographed.I would have loved to have seen this old mill in its working days!
    May 27, 2012 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    I enjoyed your photo and the history. Mills always have fascinated me, partly because I’ve not lived in a place that had them. Still, we sang about them a good bit. I found a 1911 recording of Tell Taylor’s “Down by the Old Mill Stream” – the song was part of my family’s repertoire!
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterLinda

    Hmmmm… I left a comment with a link, and got a message that it’s been accepted and will appear “shortly”. I’ll come back later and check to see if it appears. In the meantime, I’ll just add again how much I enjoyed both the photo and the history.
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterLinda

    one of the many reasons i love v&v is that i believe i travel without really doing so! thanks for this morning’s adventure.
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered Commenterhoney

    @Linda, how wonderful that you brought up that memory. Maybe that’s why I love this photo and story so much. I well remember hearing and singing that song as a child. The older ones always did the echo “…by the old mill stream (not the river but the stream)…” Thanks for this one, Cherry.
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMother

    I think it’s fascinating that a privately owned mill — kept in such pristine condition — will allow people to tour the mill and grounds. How fortunate you are to be able to enjoy this wonderful piece of history.
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    Like Honey, I so enjoy seeing parts of the world and learning through the various posts from everyone who’s a part of V&V! That’s one of many reasons why this group is so special! Thanks Cherry for sharing a part of your world! I love old mills and had one about an hour or so from where I grew up. As a family we would go there often and especially enjoyed it in the fall because they always seem to be surrounded by trees! Wonderful capture!
    May 27, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGotham Girl aka Robin

    Beautiful place and mill! Really liked reading about it!
    May 28, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSil

    Thank you for sharing! What a lovely little place.
    May 28, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPuna

    My husband’s ancestors were millers. Thus my name:)
    May 28, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPuna

    I’m with Honey and Robin. Thanks for showing me and describing a place I’d never experience otherwise.
    May 29, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    I wonder how the mill sounds with the water slowly turning it’s wheel. Your photograph is taking me back in time, I would not be surprised to see the miller and his family walk by with flour bags on his shoulder.
    May 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterAnyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    Wonderful post, I love to ‘travel’ with you.
    May 30, 2012 | Registered CommenterPetra

    That is just amazing… I love that it is still in use, and so well preserved!
    May 30, 2012 | Unregistered Commenterkelly

    This is a wonderful restored place. The mill looks absolute delightful. I can imagine, that is were nice visits. It happened two months ago, that I forgot my camera going on a photo hunt with Ginnie. (my phone only does the very basic)
    Have a great weekend!
    June 1, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterAstrid

Leave a Reply

