Autumn Contemplations

We are well and truly into Autumn now. The leaves on the trees are all turning into their delightful hues of yellows, coppers, reds and golds.  The breezes that stir up are gently shaking those leaves from the trees and making them fall like confetti to the ground below.

Autumn is one of my favourite seasons, but this year I can’t help feeling a little cheated.  Autumn has arrived but what happened to Summer?  Did I blink and miss it?  I have a memory that there was a Summery week in May and two to three Summer days in September.  Apart from that it seems to have rained from spring through to Autumn.  Oh! Yes, the weather managed to be just perfect for the Olympics in a not so typical English Summer, which was quite welcome.  The whole occasion including the weather gave visitors to England and natives a reason to celebrate in style, especially as it had been shortly preceded by the Queen’s Jubilee celebrations.

I am sure the Shropshire gardens enjoyed the rain after last year’s drought.  ‘My Oak Tree’ seems to have grown quite considerably this year. Myself I am not much of a sun worshiper and I struggle when it gets too hot but I would have liked a few more gaps in between the continuous deluge of rain if only so that I could visit some of those gardens that I so love.

As Autumn arrives the rain still doesn’t seem to have let up.  At times it seems like someone has turned a tap on and there is a continuous downpour for hours.  Apart from the colour of leaves on the trees the only thing that has differentiated Summer from Autumn is the distinct drop in temperature, especially a night.  Seeing the beautiful vibrant colours of the Autumn leaves makes up for the Summer rain.

Let’s hope the weather has a change of heart before the Winter months, we certainly wouldn’t want that level of deluge falling as snow…

One thought on “Autumn Contemplations

  1. Autumn is also my favourite season, too Cherry. I have to admit this year we were very lucky here in Vancouver, BC as the Summer even if it started late did stay until just about last week. Granted now we are having non stop rainy days but I am OK with it. Wishing you a very long dry spell

    Beautiful colours on those leaves
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterAnyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    Your picture is wonderful and really does epitomise Autumn. I agree that Autumn is a colourful season, but to me it heralds the start of winter, my leat favourite season. Cold weather, snow and ice are just not for me, so I mourn the passing of summer and sun and warmth – heat even. It’s a good job we are all different!.
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSheila Eames

    What a gorgeous autumn image! It’s such a short season…and always too beautiful! We – here – are having a shortage of rain….and I do miss it! Here’s to a dry snow-free winter for you!!!!
    October 19, 2012 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    Hard to believe that was our summer alright.You must have been very proud of the Olympics though? Spent my August holiday in rained out County Kerry and relied on London 2012 for our evening entertainment. What an upbeat, inclusive and welcoming event, it kept us sane!! I agree…. let’s hope there are some more bright days, winter can be so good for us photographers:~))
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCatherine Drea

    Many of us in Tennessee have commented how especially colorful our fall color is this year. That is kind of amazing considering how extremely hot and dry our summer was. Autumn used to be my least favorite season but now, in retirement and with my photographer’s eye, I have developed a whole new love and appreciation for Autumn’s brief, but beautiful, visit.

    Happy Fall, Y’all!!!
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    Autumn always has been and probably always will be my favorite time of the year, Cherry, for at least one of your main reasons: I can’t take too much heat/sun! We had the same short summer as you did, I’m afraid, but I was a happy camper, since the temps were hovering in the 60s most of the time. Winter? I will LOVE it if we can get a good snow again, covering the ground for several weeks. Isn’t that what it’s supposed to do? 🙂 So in that regard, I’m still a little kid, remembering when school was closed because of a blizzard. Those were the days!

    I must say, however, that I am really growing to love Spring in a new way, almost as much as autumn. Did I say that?! 🙂
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    Autumn is such a wonderful time of year. Beautiiful and a welcome respite from the heat. Here we are well into Spring with Summer looming around the next bend. Hot weather is not for me – and exacerbates my MS symptoms so I essentially turn into a troll and only come out at night. Bring back the cooler months. Please.
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered Commentersoosie

    Cherry, as I read your posting the rain is falling lightly outside my window…and I always cherish it here in the city. It bathes the sidewalks and buildings, erasing the grit that accumulates so quickly here. However, there was a long period in my life that I hated it. Growing up in Virginia I didn’t appreciate it as much, so I escaped to the Arizona desert for days and days of sunshine. Now I cherish both and am so fortunate to be able to have them both in my life! Amazing how age changes your perspective!
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGotham Girl aka Robin

    Here in NJ, overnight it seems, the colors have peaked. But, it’s raining. Happy Autumn anyway.
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela

    Autumn is my favorite season also. Spring is not far behind though. We have had a stunning autumn here in Indiana (USA). I have been out doing photography as often as I can and absorbing it all into my senses. The beauty has almost been overwhelming for me. Love your image and thoughts.
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterJoni James

    So true that the colors of the leaves make up for any of the weather woes of autumn! I never seem to tire of photos of leaves, nor do I seem to get tired of taking them. The miracle of all that amazing color just lifts the soul. I hope you get your wish and can enjoy autumn before being pounded with snow.
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterDeborah

    Yes, I am also a lover of Autumn and rain is among my favorite things but I know that too much of it can get very tiring and make life difficult. I’m so happy that you shared this gorgeous image today!
    October 19, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSusan

    Although I prefer spring to autumn, I love the autumnal colours and your picture represents them perfectly, Cherry, thanks for sharing.

    I’m trying to remember which year was so balanced that I was really satisfied with its weather, but I can’t recall any. I remember harsh and mild winters, hot and rainy summers, short springs and early autumns, there is always some detail that doesn’t match the whole. Nature (un)fortunately doesn’t work according to our expectation.
    October 20, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPetra

    Weather seems to come in extremes with some places getting an overabundance of rain and other places, like where I’m at, sitting in a dangerous drought. So I myself am hoping for a ton of snow this winter, not only for the moisture and “pretty” factor, but because I only got to ski once last winter and it wasn’t great with the grass poking through in spots. I’ve always liked the weather variety the seasons bring but it seems that lately the seasons are less differentiated and blend into each other. You’ve captured the best of fall in your photo and words.
    October 20, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    Autumn is my favorite season as well, and luckily for us, here in Northern California it is a long season (sometimes the turning leaves stay on the trees well into December). This year, however, it is not quite as glorious, probably because of the lack of rain. What you have too much of, we have far too less – I can’t wait for the winter rain to start.
    October 20, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    We had just the opposite here, almost no rain at all this summer. But I remember years like the one you describe, the long, wet, endless rains.
    Autumn came early here, it cooled down early in September and never really warmed back up. But it has been a fabulous year for autumn color… the drought, combined with the cool temperatures created the perfect combination for that.

    Here’s hoping things dry up for you soon!
    October 22, 2012 | Unregistered Commenterkelly

    Thank you all for your thoughts on Autumn. I have just returned from a weekend break in Paris and the weather was glorious it was just like summer. Not at all like Paris usually is in October.
    October 23, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    I love the warm autumn this year. I just took a walk and listened to the quiet rustle of leaves falling down…it’s beautiful.
    October 24, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPuna

Leave a Reply

