Count Down to Christmas

Advent Calendar
Autumn has come and is now almost gone making me realise that today is the last day of November.  This means we are now on the countdown to Christmas and I am wondering what happened to the year.  Last Christmas seems like only yesterday.  Time… ‘it’ always seems to run away from me, leaving me playing catch up.

When I look back it has been a good year for us in the UK.  We had the Queen’s Jubilee celebrations and the spectacular Pageant of the flotilla of boats along the Thames.  It was good to watch from the warmth of my living room on what was a cold and rainy day.  I missed some of the other Jubilee celebrations due to flying to a rather warmer climate in France a couple of days after the celebrations commenced.

We also hosted the highly successful Olympic Games followed by the Paralympics.  The Queen also took part in the opening ceremony too where she did a little skit with Daniel Craig as James Bond.  She appeared to parachute from a helicopter and land in the Olympic stadium ready for the opening ceremony.

I hadn’t intended to watch the opening ceremony but I was visiting my Mum that evening and she had the telly on when I arrived.  I am glad that she did because I thoroughly enjoyed the spectacle that gave a good representation of Britain’s heritage from the Industrial Revolution to the current day.

Another thing for us in the UK celebrate was the Englishman, Bradley Wiggins, becoming the first Briton to win the Tour de France.  In addition to Bradley’s win his English team mate Chris Frome came second overall.

On a personal level I enjoyed this year’s two visits to France (Carcassonne and Paris) and I am currently planning another visit next year.  I don’t know how I will squeeze everything I want to do into the time I have available.

It is the first day of December tomorrow and in the run up to Christmas day I will try to avoid the Christmas crush and madness in the shops although I do have to confess to having enjoyed the display in the local garden centre a couple of weeks ago on my way to a late lunch in the cafe.  I plan to visit Birmingham which always has a good feel to it in the run up to Christmas and at this time of year it also hosts a German market giving it a slightly continental feel.

Tomorrow I will be visiting a local Christmas Gift Fair in its inaugural year. I will be on the lookout for Christmas gifts and getting into the festive mood.

I hope you enjoy my advent calendar and I invite you to count down to Christmas with me…

One thought on “Count Down to Christmas

  1. I feel the same as you do Cherry, I do not understand where the year went…This year went even faster than the previous ones…Where is the brake? 😉

    Thank you for you beautiful advent calendar and enjoy the Chritsmas Gift Fair
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterAnyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    Wait. Don’t forget Andy Murray winning the Olympic tennis competition at Wimbledon!!! THAT WAS HUGE! And I’ll never forget it. You in the UK have had a spectacular year, Cherry, for which I’m proud. All of it…including that amazing wedding of Kate and William! What a year, indeed. I think the rest of the world ate it up. And I think those of you in the UK became proud again of where you live!

    I love your advent calendar. What a great way to get ready for December!
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    I love your pictures. ‘Time’ some people don’t know what to do with it, I always run out of it, like you. It is good to look back at things and close the book and head forwards. Planning is fun. In an hour we head for Cologne for the Christmas market.
    Have fun at the Christmas fair, it is always a good way to relax and enjoy.
    And indeed the UK had a good year, I think all the happy events are good for your beautiful country.
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterAstrid

    I simply love your Advent calendar. And yes, the year has whizzed past and I am in frantic mode trying to catch up. I think I need to stop and take several deep breaths. Have a productive and enjoyable time at the Christmas fair. I have almost total sales resistance (books and plants excluded) but fiars and markets are completely different. People are having FUN for staters…
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered Commentersoosie

    What a beautiful advent color – love..love…love!!

    I particularly loved the opening ceremonies of the Olympics – not just the Queen’s descent but the way it depicted your country’s history. Yes indeed – what an amazing year!!!
    November 30, 2012 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    What a lovely idea for an advent colour, well done. I have also found that this year has disappeared too fast, it feels as if someone has turned the calender pages too fast and I will wake up soon and find its really only June. But we have had a good year in Britain, haven’t we – so much good to look back on and help us forget the bad bits (like politics!). Enjoy December and all it has to offer.
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSheila Eames

    It has been a wonderful year for you. I loved the Olympic opening ceremony too. The celebration of working class culture, integration, the Beatles, the NHS, the rural idyll, all things British, was fantastic. I felt so proud for all of you that you could tell the world of the depth and decency of your people in such a creative way. Clare Balding (a BBC Commentator) has to be my stand out British heroine. Every chance she got she highlighted women athletes and para-olympians in such a lovely way. Big hug from your neighbour across the Irish Sea:~))
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCatherine

    Where HAS the time gone? The older I get, the faster time moves, or so it seems. Your advent calendar is delightful. It will help motivate me to get ready for The Holidays!
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela

    Your advent calendar is filled with such lovely light and bright colors, perfect tools for fighting off the winter blues that come with these shorter days.

    I like how you have reflected on all the good highlights of the year. This season seems to bring that out of all of us, time to reflect as well as a time to celebrate.
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterDeborah

    I wonder which window of your lovely advent calendar I’ll open first, Cherry. It seems to me that the winner is the one with the red buses. Getting on and following the road leading to Christmas Eve, stopping here and there for bits of inspiration and pre-Christmas atmosphere. 🙂

    I didn’t see the opening ceremonies of the Olympics and really regret that because I’ve heard such positive feedback from many people!
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPetra

    We were just saying that this morning, how fast November came & went! Onward now into the holidays ~ thanks for sharing your beautiful calender.
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSusan

    Thank you for getting me into the Christmas spirit!
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPuna

    Oh Cherry. Your post today just makes me smile! I love the concept of a photo Christmas Countdown Calendar with the tree, the lights, candles, food, and all of the traditional festivities the season generates. And, I love the way you have written this post; complete with all of the British pride and colloquialisms one can imagine! How GREAT!

    I think we will try to get the house decorated this weekend in preparation for the upcoming holidays. But first we have to celebrate two family birthdays! LOL
    November 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    It does sound like you had quite a year! I will be decorating my house today and doing the yearly furniture rearranging to make a spot for the tree. I too feel like I just did all this a few months ago. Where did the year go? And what happened to all those plans to do yoga, eat healthy, and submit a story per month for publication? There is still December to make it happen!
    December 1, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    Love your advent calendar! Your summary of the events showcasing your country has made it enter my list of places to visit! I so enjoyed watching the Olympics. I can’t even imagine how beautiful the flotilla of boats on the Thames would be!
    December 1, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGotham Girl aka Robin

    Thank you for sharing these images. They’re so beautiful – every one! what a gift. Happy holidays Cherry!
    December 1, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterBarbara

    I love your advent calendar, Cherry. I make one every year for my daughter.
    Our year was a good one as well, but I have to agree with you that it flew by very fast. Too fast for me as I still can’t find all of the advent decoration due to our move. The Christmas CDs with our beautiful German carols and Bach’s advent cantatas are hidden in some secret boxes as well. But I am determined to get into the spirit, no matter what!
    December 1, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    Thank you all for your lovely comments, they have inspired me and made me smile 🙂 I am glad my thoughts and advent calendar inspired you all too *hugs*
    December 2, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterCherryPie

    What a lovely calendar. Yes, time surely does fly, it is hard to believe it’s time for jingle bells already. Counting down the days with you, most definitely!
    December 2, 2012 | Unregistered Commenterkelly

    your photo collage is brilliant
    and i wish you the merriest and warmest
    and most beautiful of holy seasons:)
    -Jennifer
    December 4, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterJennifer Richardson

Leave a Reply

