An Unexpected Adventure

P1040625 PhotoshopOne day last week the weather was rather unfriendly. It had decided to start raining just before I left work to go home.  I have a five minute walk to get to my car because I deliberately don’t park too close to my office building so that I get a little bit of exercise each day.

I was carrying two bags and an umbrella so my hands were full when it was time to get my car key out of my coat pocket.  A little bit of juggling and I managed it, but unfortunately the key slipped out of my hands.  It landed at my feet and then slid under the car.  I could tell by the sound that it had slid quite someway underneath…

The thought running through my head was I wonder if I will be able to reach the key or if I will have to call International Rescue to bring me the spare one.  There were no other cars on the car park so there was no chance of help from any passers-by and there had not been many people left in the office either so not much chance of any help from that quarter either.

I peered under the car with some trepidation.  The key couldn’t have gone much further if it had tried.  I was left with no other option than to kneel down on the wet gravelly floor and stretch to my limit underneath the car. At this point I was hoping that I didn’t put my back out again.  Just a couple of weeks ago I trapped a nerve whilst leaning forward to pick something up and it took longer than usual to recover.

I only just reached the corner of the key!  The worry was that I might push it further under and totally out of reach!

I tried carefully to coax the key in my direction and luckily I managed to do that.  Thankfully my back withheld despite the stretching and the only cost was sore knees and mud on my gloves, which if I had been thinking straight I would have removed before undertaking the retrieval operation.  I suspect my skirt was also covered in mud but as it was dark brown it was difficult to tell.  Needless to say it went straight in the wash when I got home.

Now I really must remember to be more careful in future…

One thought on “An Unexpected Adventure

  1. My heart was in my mouth, hoping you could rescue your key without majpr damage to yourself. I am very, very glad you did – though probably not as thankful as you were. Such a simple slip, with the potential for not disaster perhaps but certainly significant inconvenience. And of course you were the only one around – almost a given.
    All’s welll that ends well. I hope you had a drink when you got home – hot or alcoholic. Or one followed by the other.

    March 15, 2013 | Soosie
    We can all so relate to stories like this. I’m both laughing and sighing at the absurdity and frustration of the whole situation. Glad you could reach the key and the only thing that suffered was your skirt – which could so easily be washed!!!

    March 15, 2013 | Marcie
    The thing is…and I hate to say it…this happens more and more the older I get. [nervous chuckle] My head is almost always racing and my body tries to follow suit but doesn’t always make it. Don’t you wonder how it is that almost all people still have 10 fingers and toes? That never ceases to amaze me.

    But, back to your story, Cherry…I love that you picked an adventure of your day that we all can relate to, yes, and could have ended up so much worse. I think our guardian angels are doing lots of hovering these days!

    March 15, 2013 | Ginnie
    What is so “fun” about this is how relate-able it is! I was worried someone might take advantage of you because you were so vulnerable, hands full, lost key, nowhere to hide! Guess I’ve watched too many cops shows! Thanks for sharing! Nice to know we aren’t alone in our little misadventures!

    March 15, 2013 | Lisa Buie-Collard
    i can see this so well in my mind….i also imagine
    how tightly you’re clutching that key in the future:)
    glad you’re safe and warm and dry now
    …ah, the simple pleasures.
    -Jennifer

    March 15, 2013 | Jennifer Richardson
    love a happy ending!

    March 15, 2013 | Susan
    Cherry, I think as careful as we are, the universe enjoys a humorous scene. Go glad this tale found an agreeable ending. Whew. Somehow, when those things happen to me (and they do), and it works out ok, I spend the rest of the day grateful and also feeling a little superhuman-empowered. And of course, that wares off quickly until the next time…

    March 15, 2013 | Elena Caravela
    Sounds like your guardian angel just wanted to play a little mischief on you and give you a little moment of nervous scare. So glad the ending of this was a happy one.

    From the looks of the comments, it seems like most everyone experiences these close encounters from time to time. I always say a thank you to ‘whomever’ it is that helps me get safely through these ‘sticky wickets’ of life.

    March 15, 2013 | Sue
    Funny, or not really funny, more like a strange new realization comes in these instances. Things that were not such a big deal become so much more so when you are protecting aches, pains, and not wanting to break anything. Every year, winter ice becomes a bigger deal and this may be why so many people stay somewhere warmer during the winter. I’m glad things turned out okay. Perhaps keys on an attached chain or a long key chain to grab. Perhaps a strong magnet! I knew I should have kept that grabbing stick that my Mom had to pick things up when she could no longer bend over…

    March 15, 2013 | Maery Rose
    Great story and of course love that there’s a happy ending for you!!

    March 15, 2013 | Gotham Girl Aka Robin
    You had me on pins and needles with this story. I was afraid for you. I can so picture that happening to me. So glad you got the key, that no stranger bothered you, that your back held out, and that even though your skirt got brown and dirty – it stayed down and covered your butt. My luck it would have hiked up and My bottom would have been exposed too. I guess there’s always something in any situation to be grateful for!

    March 15, 2013 | Barbara
    While I was reading this I wondered why you didn’t close the umbrella and used that to retrieve the keys – better for your back, I guess. It is so annoying when something like that happens. I once had a wrist watch that had the tendency to open suddenly, and once it opened while I was fishing for my carkeys with my toddler daughter on my other arm, and it went right into a grid – I saw it lying on the lower edge but I couldn’t reach it! Darn! My wonderful husband went there afterwards (he wasn’t with me) and pulled off the lid to the grid (which is quite heavy) and retrieved the watch for me. Now what if that had happened to my (and now your) car keys? I guess that would be a case for the rescue!
    I’m glad that you got your keys back although you got all wet and dirty. Good thing it was on your way back home and not to work, so at least you could cozy up at home (I hope).

    March 15, 2013 | Carola
    It’s when they fall down a drain at the kerbside that it gets really inconvenient, as happened twice to an accident-prone lady I know, and then a few weeks after telling me that she dropped her phone and it went down a drain too Same car, three different drains. I suggested she stop parking beside drains.

    March 15, 2013 | Don QuiScottie
    Things tend to slip out of our hands at the most inappropriate moments, don’t they? So glad to read the happy ending of your story! The key retrieved and no injury, that’s most important. I had to laugh at Barbara’s comment about being grateful for the skirt staying down, that’s what I call a positive attitude! 🙂

    By the way, I’m delighted to see the Czech Škoda logo on your car key! 🙂

    March 16, 2013 | Petra
    Where is the knight in shining armor when you need him!?

    March 17, 2013 | Puna

Leave a Reply

