Things That Make You Go Hmm…

Things that make you go hmm...

I recently read a blog post entitled ‘The Gate of Gifts’. 1 I found it quite heart-warming (it brought tears to my eyes in a good way); the experiences mentioned in the post chimed with things that have happened to me over the years and reminded me of some unusual events leading up to and after my dad passed away in April 2010.

On the day that my dad was rushed into hospital, my home phone was not working. There was nothing wrong with it, it started working again the day after…  My heating had also broken down a couple of days before. 2

When it was time to visit my dad on his last day in this world, all the roads to the hospital were blocked and I had to be creative to get there in time for the visiting slot.  I was meeting my mum and brother who were already there and I was worrying because I knew my brother would be stressed because I was late.  When I left the hospital room I knew I would never see my dad again.

For that reason I took this photo of the beginning of a sunset.  The actual sunset was amazing, something I have never seen before or since. I saw it in the rear view mirror as I was driving back to my parents’ house. 3  The sky was orange and the sun was a bright orange disc gradually changing to an intense red colour. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky so the sun was a perfect circle with a different shade of orangey/red behind it. 4

One evening several months before my dad passed away when I was visiting my parents I pressed the doorbell and it played a completely different melody to usual.  My dad opened the door and we commented on it and he tried it out a few times but it had reverted back to its usual sound.  Everyone else claimed we were hearing things and it never did it again until one morning a few days after my dad passed away…  When I pressed the bell it took me by surprise by playing that same unusual melody.  My mum opened the door and said “I don’t know why it did that!” 5

When we returned to my mum’s house after my dad’s funeral some plants my dad had ordered (several months before) were unexpectedly sitting on the doorstep. 6

A few months later I spent time with my mum on my dad’s birthday helping her to choose a memorial rose in his memory. Later in the day when we were leaving mum’s house ready for an evening meal at my house I heard what I thought was a door shutting upstairs.  When I went to investigate I found that the door to my dad’s office, which even now is always left open, had blown shut…  This reminded me that my mobile phone had been playing up in a very unusual way earlier in the day… 7

Other odd things happened after my dad passed away…

The doorbell rang randomly at my mum’s house when no-one was there.  For many months a telephone rang in her dining room where there is no phone and nothing in the room that could make that noise.  There were many electrical failures particularly in my mum’s house but there were also some in mine.  There was a very strange incident involving a glass shelf…

Around October 2011 I was at home alone eating my evening meal.  I was using the lights in the side unit rather than the main light and my thoughts were away with the fairies, as they often are when I have peace and quiet.  The light dimmed and I looked around because I thought the bulb had blown.  What I saw was the light slowly dimming and growing bright again three or four times. I thought it was a bit strange but it stopped and I thought nothing more of it, until a few months later…

On Christmas day I scheduled a picture of my mum and dad (taken on the last Christmas we had with my dad) to post as we sat down to dinner.  It was a very happy thought and it made me smile.  As we sat down to dinner the same light slowly dimmed and grew bright three or four times… 8

Things that make you go hmm…

1 The Gate of Gifts by Iain Carstairs

2 Failing Technology

3 Sunset

4 Cragside Revisited (comments section)

5 The Doorbell and the Shoe

6 New Growth

7 The Magical Mystery Tour

8 Christmas Memories

3 thoughts on “Things That Make You Go Hmm…

  1. Oh my. Such a thought provoking post – which brought back memories of similar things happening in my world at similarly emotion laden times.
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered Commentersoosie

    Hmm…for sure. It does make me want to believe that the universe has a way of speaking to us..that there might even be some sort of explanation for what is truly un-explainable. Hmmm…..
    July 11, 2013 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    Oh, yes, Cherry. Big-time Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmms. Without going into the details, several hmmmm-things also happened in my family after my brother died at age 47. Strange things that would be scary if left alone with no context. My guess is that we in the Western world are mostly cut off from psychic experiences that the Eastern world is in tune to all the time. It makes you wonder how we’d all be different if we were able to open up, without fear, to this “other” dimension!

    I love the way you have so nonchalantly written this, with your added blog posts as subscripts! And I can’t believe how much you are the spittin’ image of your mom. WOW. Actually, maybe also of your dad! 🙂
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    I too have experienced some strange yet joyful gifts. When it happens (not often), I generally smile and offer thanks to the individual that I really do feel around me. Thanks Cherry for all of the marvelous posts you have introduced. My mind will be open today to any gifts that may arrive.
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela

    love is stronger than death.
    the universe sings this to us in a gazillion ways.
    the orchestra is always different for each life
    …..you are well loved:)
    -Jennifer
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterJennifer Richardson

    This is amazing Cherry! When my sister passed away unexpectedly a few years ago, the first time back sleeping in my parents house she would visit me at 2:00 a.m. every morning during my entire stay. There would be a brush of wind in the room that would wake me at that exact hour for the entire two weeks I was there. On the last night when she woke me up I just had a good heart to heart and told her she was really screwing up my sleep patterns and perhaps she could find a more appropriate hour to visit. I never got that 2:00 a.m. visit again.
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGotham Girl aka Robin

    Hmm…
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterAndrew MacLaren-Scott

    I hear similar stories once in awhile but have never experienced anything myself. You think I would have given I’ve lost three parents and one brother. Perhaps they are more the silent type… 🙂
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    Hmmm, indeed! I think we do have connections with our loved ones that can go beyond what we expect. Sometimes we miss these things because we aren’t paying enough attention. It surely does make you stop and think!
    July 11, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterKelly

    I believe, I want to be assured that our loved ones who have departed can linger to comfort with theirpresence and promise that we’ll see them again. What a beautiful thoughtprovokingpost,, Cherry!
    July 12, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterBarbara

    Have had a few hmm moments myself…..I found that grief was a special place with lots of them but when I finally let myself leave the deep grief behind these moments never happened again…..hmm……beautiful sky…
    July 12, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterCatherine

    Cherry, when speaking about stories like this we say in Czech that “there are matters between the sky and the earth…” with a meaningful pause at the end …and I do believe there are. Yet when I hear or read somebody’s else experience, my mind races to find reasonable explanations. Perhaps that’s why it’s so difficult to explain our beliefs to others because they don’t have any chance to perceive our personal experience. Especially when they don’t believe in these “matters”. Well, there is no prove who’s right and who’s wrong and we all make our own choices what to believe in. I find it all right.
    July 15, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterPetra

    • Non of them were scary, they were things that caught my attention and made me think…

      I always refer to these sort of things as my ‘strange co-incidences’…

      I have had scary experiences too, but they are not at all related to anything in this post.

Leave a Reply

