Swiss Transport Museum

SwissTransport Museum

The Swiss Transport Museum is one of the recommended sites to visit in Lucerne. It includes more than 3000 items illustrating the development of road, rail, water and space transportation and covers most types of mechanised transport starting with the early modes of each type of transport right through to today.  Being in Switzerland there was even a display on cable cars and gondolas.

The part of the museum that most captured my imagination was the road transport hall.  The outside of the hall is covered with 344 road signs.  The face of each side of the hall is dedicated to a specific type of sign – motorway, A Road and urban road signs making blue, green and white faces to the building, leaving one side neutral.

Inside the hall, the car display (including earlier modes of transport such as horse-drawn carriages and cycles) was very ingenious and the best I have ever seen.  The cars were displayed in layers along one wall of the hall stacked floor to ceiling on a 42 pallet high-bay warehouse along one wall of the hall. The visitors choose, by using a voting button, which of the cars are to be displayed in the theatre.  The car with the most votes is retrieved from the rack by a robotic crane system and delivered to the theatre for closer inspection in an arena.  Each vehicle comes with a full commentary.

The hall also had a large collection of toy cars that could be chosen and delivered by a similar (albeit much smaller) crane arrangement.  The picking of these model cars was by number so it was pot luck as to which of the toy cars would be delivered for viewing.

I didn’t manage to capture a decent photograph of the car layers and the crane so I have borrowed one from Mr C and used a little bit of my magic on it.

One thought on “Swiss Transport Museum

  1. What an incredible place. I am fascinated with older cars – I think they have infinitely more charm, and always smile when I see vintage rallies. Despite not being a car buff, I am sure that I could spend some happy hours here, dreaming …
    Thank you.

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterSoosie
    What an amazing museum! I always love these kinds of very specific and surprise little museums that tell us so much about our history. Love what you did with the image!

    September 5, 2013 | Registered CommenterMarcie
    You always find the most unusual things to write about, Cherry! I bet the road signs were worth the entire visit, as well as the old-timey cars. But I think I would have been most mesmerized by the toy cars. I would buy them every day if I had enoiugh money and kids to give them to. HA! Maybe I should start my own collection. 🙂

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie
    It appears that many forms of transportation are very well represented in the Transportation Museum. Who knew? I certainly did not. Thanks Cherry, for the eye opener!

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela
    I’ve never even thought of cards and transport as art before
    but now your post has given me a eureka:)
    thanks for stretching my world,
    Jennifer

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterJennifer Richardson
    It would be interesting to see how the cars in the Swiss museum differ from what we so commonly see as vintage cars in the US. I would expect many of the cars would be smaller, which I like better.

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose
    I’m not terribly interested in cars, but I was delighted to see a 2CV in your picture. Here in California I only saw one of them in the past 12 years, whereas they were a common sight in my old University town in Germany, it being one of the most popular cars among students there. They were nicknamed “Ente” (duck), and one my class mates painted the Chinese characters for Beijing kaoya (Beijing duck) onto his red 2CV! I can’t see that on a SUV here…

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterCarola
    The “Car Display” would’ve been my favorite too Cherry! I love vintage cars, bicycles, really anything vintage. Loved your work of magic!

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGotham Girl Aka Robin
    What an extraordinary place, Cherry! Thanks for telling us about it. There may be just one picture attached to your post, but you’ve filled my mind’s eye with images of floating cars, and vintage vehicles from times gone by, and that crane pulling them into closer view. Wonderful and amazing!

    September 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterJuli
    I’m not much into these technical museums, Cherry, but if I – by any chance – end up visiting any of them, I’m usually mesmerized by all the history and achievements.

    It must be something to see how the chosen car is taken from the rack by the crane system and delivered to the theatre! 🙂

    September 8, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterPetra
    So funny to see them all stacked up like that as if you could just walk right up and grab one off the shelf. It looks, and sounds, like a wonderful place to visit!

    September 17, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterKelly

Leave a Reply

