A Reflection on 2013

A Reflection on 2013 V&V

After the mad rush in the few weeks run up to Christmas I can’t believe it is Boxing Day already!

Looking back on the year it doesn’t seem five minutes since last Christmas.  This year has certainly flown by in a blur.

It has certainly been a bumper year for vacations.  I had a mini break to Newcastle and two mini breaks to Nottingham early in the year.  The breaks in Nottingham were to celebrate significant birthdays of two members of my family.  In the Summer I had a well needed relaxing holiday to Lucerne and in September an even more relaxing holiday to Newcastle and Northumberland, this involved staying in one of my favourite places.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to go on my planned weekend away to Oxford with my family to celebrate my birthday.  The day before we were due to go away my mum slipped on the stairs and broke her leg in three places, so she needed a bit of help to get her sorted out around the house.

The year was tinged with sadness when early in the year one of my blogging friends passed away suddenly.  I still miss him, especially when I am out and about with my camera when I wonder how his photographs of the places I am taking would look.

I have been lucky to meet other new blogging friends along the way.  I even got to meet one of my blog friends for the first time earlier in the year on one of my mini breaks and again later in the year on one of my longer vacations.  We thoroughly enjoyed both occasions.

As you have come to expect from me I had many day trips out including two to London.  The second one became rather eventful when the coach broke down just outside London on our way home.  We ended up being trapped on the coach for four hours!!!

The summer weather was just perfect and we spent many evenings sitting out on the patio, dining and then waiting for the sun to set.  This was a welcome relief the previous year it seemed to rain almost continually in England.

Despite all the toing and froing we even managed get the guttering replaced and to have a new bathroom fitted along the way.  It is perfect to soak in the new bath, enjoying a glass of sherry, each Sunday evening before dinner.

I don’t know what 2014 will bring but perhaps I should slow down a little?

My image shows a picture taken in each month of 2013

1 thought on “A Reflection on 2013

  1. What a glorious montage. So varied, so beautiful. Slow down? Not unless you are ready to…
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterSoosie

    As you showed, time flies. Happy times and sad times follow each other. It is part of our journey.
    But slow down? Next year I will be 60…… I feel I just am warming up and ready to go, grab the time and opportunity while you can. No regrets in the end.
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterAstrid

    Me too – I’ve been reflecting on this past year and its events. Love how you’ve put your year end reflections in pictures. What a wonderful memory!!!
    December 26, 2013 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    What a fabulous way to tick off another year, Cherry, by this montage of images. I’d love to see what we’d all come up with if we did the same. I bet it was hard to pick ONE image for each month. Well, maybe I’m speaking for myself. I like the thought of measuring a year by its months…. A tip of the hat to 2013.
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    When I see your photos, adn armed with a video camera now, it makes me want to take up blogging again, photographing my island. 🙂

    You have a writer’s voice that really reels one in, Cherie.

    Thank you for your generous heart and taking us along on all your mini breaks and journeys. Something I thoroughly enjoy!
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterUbermouth

    I love your retrospective Cherry….nice memories to take you into the new year.
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterDonna@Gardens Eye View

    nearly time for my second cup of coffee but not before looking at YOUR wonderful year of travel. thanks for taking me with you to fascinating places.

    here’s to more armchair travel thanks to you in 2014!
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterHoney

    What a nice way to give tribute to 2013! I love your images.
    May 2014 be a year of good health, peace, and prosperity for you!
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterDeborah

    Traveling could be a way of slowing down, depending on how you do it and whether it’s your passion (unlike me who wants to travel but panics over the planning). It sounds like 2013 was wonderful in many ways!
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    Oh, Cherry, One of the things I love about this time of year is the chance to reflect on the year gone by and dream about the year to come. Thank you for sharing your reflections, both in image and word. What a beautiful year! So many adventures at home and afar. I have to say, I am with Maery Rose on this…travel certainly can be a form of slowing down! 🙂 Cheers to the great adventures that lie ahead in 2014. And, condolences, Cherry, on the loss of your friend, and for the trials your mother had had to endure.
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterJuli

    And me too Cherry….a time for reflection……don’t think I’ll be slowing down though as I’m too enthusiastic about being alive!! I wish you everything you dream of for your next year, and raise a glass of sherry in your honour:~))
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterCatherine

    I envy you for all your traveling – it sounds lovely! Your photos are beautiful – I enjoyed each one!
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    In the past I have reviewed images and selected ‘favorites’ to share for a year in review, but never a photo a month. That completely changes the meaning for the images…and I like that approach. I have often referred to my images as my ‘visual journal.’ Your ‘visual journal’ is fascinating, reflecting a full and varied year. Here’s hoping 2014 is filled with journeys and adventures as you are interested in undertaking. Slow down only if that’s what you really want to.
    December 26, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    Beautiful collage and beautiful post and tribute to 2013. hope 2014 will bring you more interesting adventures and tranquil days whenever you need them
    December 28, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterZena (Healingmoments)

    Slow down a little? I don’t see any reason unless you’d feel it’s the right option for you, Cherry.

    I never manage (or bother?) to look back at the previous year and make such a collage, but when I’m looking at yours, I find it rewarding. We forget so easily which is to our disadvantage I guess.
    January 4, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterPetra

Leave a comment