Freakish Weather

Freakish Weather

In England, weather is often a favourite topic of conversation.  We English are never content whatever the weather.

The beginning of 2014 has brought some freak weather to our shores.  Since December last year there has been torrential rainfall in the south of the country leading to intensive flooding.   The ‘Somerset Levels’ has now become an inland waterway.  Many people in that area have been forced to evacuate their homes and farmers have bought boats so that they can get to and from their farmland and the local town.

For some reason the Jet Stream has become stuck and it is this that is causing this unseasonal, freakish weather!  In recent weeks this anomaly has caused hurricane force winds along parts of the coastline.  Some gusts peaked at over 100mph exacerbating high spring tides and causing waves that damaged coastal properties.

The torrential rain has also caused sinkholes to appear because of underground corrosion.  Some of these have appeared next to residential properties, requiring them to be evacuated.

Moving closer to my Shropshire home the winds have been less severe but still strong enough to bring down many (old) trees, causing travel problems and damage to property.

Sadly the extreme weather conditions have led to some loss of life and some people have unfortunately lost their livelihood.  The weather has also had a devastating effect on the environment and the land will perhaps take a long time to recover.

Once again I am impatiently waiting for spring

One thought on “Freakish Weather

  1. Weather is a major topic of conversation here too – and probably everywhere that experiences weather – of any sort.
    My heart has gone out to all those affected by the torrential wind and rain, as it has those buried in snow, and those here in Australia affected by heat waves and bush fire.
    Some global weather moderation would be very welcome.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterSoosie

    Here in Ireland it has been miserable too Cherry! I was out in the worst storm we have had for many years and really scared myself when I found my car stuck on a road between two fallen trees. Something weird is afoot for sure. There can be nothing worse than losing your home to a deluge of water, my heart goes out to the Somerset folk who find them selves living in a permanent wetland. When o when will the storms abate???
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterCatherine

    This ‘freakish weather’ system to which you refer – seems to have affected us all. Funny that it’s taken on so much importance that its subject has come up here. I think we’re all impatiently awaiting spring…:-)!
    February 24, 2014 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    So sorry to hear about the loss you are experiencing there Cherry. I concur that we are waiting for spring after this winter although ours is always a bit later given our “normal weather”. It seems normal weather may be a thing of the past though, and a new normal is coming with the extreme temps or storms throughout most of the US this year. I continue to be concerned by these extremes around the world. I hope we can find some moderation.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterDonna@Gardens Eye View

    Cherry, I’ve heard from several blogger friends from across the pond re:the downpours. Some awful news. East coast USA has endured an icy, snowy winter this year. Hoping spring brings us all a more expected, “typical” season.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela

    Sorry, I neglected to mention the beautiful painting heading your post!
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela

    As a brit living the US it makes me sad to see images of all the flooding in the UK right now. Thankfully my family are safe but there has been quite a bit of flooding in their area.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterKathryn Dyche Dechairo

    Also awaiting Spring and accepting the fact that normal weather is a thing of the past. Wonderful image that you’ve shared here.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterSusan

    I have watched this “stuck weather” pattern all winter long, Cherry, shaking my head in disbelief. Too much snow, too much rain, too much heat, too much cold. If only it could be balanced out across this globe of ours! I hope this isn’t the new normal. It scares me if it is. Surely there is something we can do? Pray tell we each can do our part…please?!
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    I have seen the images on the news, so heartbreaking. There really has been so much “freakish weather” this winter, in so many different areas of the world. And yes, everywhere you go, people are talking about it. We tend to take the weather for granted when it is mild, but lately there is so much to discuss.

    Your painting is gorgeous, and a perfect illustration for your post, and what this all feels like.

    Here’s hoping that things get unstuck for so many of us very soon, and that milder weather is on the horizon.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterKelly

    I find this extreme weather a bit scary. It’s happening everywhere, it seems. Colder than cold. Wetter than wet. Here in Toronto, it’s been the coldest, snowiest winter in, at least, twenty years. I do wonder if these new weather experiences are the new normal. And, if so,…what is the impact of it over the long term? Meanwhile, the weather, and our infamous mayor, keep conversations going everywhere in my town! Love your painting, Cherry…it’s beautiful!
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterJuli

    It always tears at my heart when I see trees downed by storms, no matter the season. It’s as though a part of me has been severed.

    Though I have seen bits on the news about the weather affecting the UK, I did not realize the extent of impact on all of you living there. We tend to think we are so isolated and stranded on our little islands when some kind of bad weather comes along. But that is not the case.

    Your story illustrates that so well. And your image reminds me to find the beauty even in the storms that come.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterDeborah

    May we each do our part to help!
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterSusie@Life-Change-Compost

    Cherry, I felt so sorry to read on the Internet about these extreme weather conditions that hit the UK. To have an unusually mild or severe winter is strange but when there are losses of lives and damages to property, it changes the situation significantly. Hopefully there is enough help available to those affected, hopefully the people will recover and adapt themselves soon. It might be easier nowadays when countries cooperate more intensively in these cases and help one another but the impact for the affected still remains huge. We all need to adapt mentally to the changing weather conditions. Though I feel awkward to say that, who knows what the spring will be like. I hope for the best.
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterPetra

    “For some reason the Gulf Stream has become stuck”

    I think you mean the Jet Stream, Cherie, which is high in the atmosphere, not the Gulf Stream, which is in the Atlantic ocean, and what’s the cause is the big issue, eh? Us or natural variation or a bit of both. We may find out the answer too late (actually, it’s probably already too late)
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterAndrew MacLaren-Scott

    it is the loss of life that saddens me…
    February 24, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterHoney

    I have seen the images on the news, so sad. Here the weather has been colder than usual and I have seen hailstones covering the roads of my city for the very first time. Having a real winter (with many cloudy days, rain and low temperatures) is a novelty for us, we usually have winter days mixed up with spring days, but this season those spring days have been scarce. It´s not too bad (in particular comparing with other geographical areas) but I am missing cloudless days very much, when I see a bright day my heart feels uplifted.

    Beautiful painting!
    February 25, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterZena

    it seems we’re coming into a time
    when the only thing we can expect
    is the unexpected.
    wrapping you all in love and prayers
    that you’ll find refuge in community and grace.
    peace to you in the journey gone strange,
    Jennifer
    February 25, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterJennifer Richardson

    The impact the weather is having all over the world is so scary. Sending you and anyone else dealing with such tragedy my warmest thoughts and hopes for you.
    February 25, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterRobin Aka Gotham Girl

    I love Jennifer’s response. I think I’ll copy it into my notebook to carry with me. I second her wishes for peace, safety, and refuge to all who are dealing with difficulties, whether they be weather or another “journey gone strange”.
    February 26, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    In the German news that I watch on the internet I have followed the weather in England and especially the flooding in Somerset. It is simply dreadful, and it reminded me of the horrible flooding in Germany the year before. The weather is a popular topic here as well, for just the opposite reason – not enough rain. We’re getting into our second straight year of severe drought and it worries me a lot.
    February 26, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    That painting is so striking! Nature can be so sweet, but yes, we have to respect her power too. She has a seniority and ways that if not heeded, can wreak havoc – whether it be torrential rains, scorching droughts, hot temps or freezing spells – we move through it the best we can.
    February 27, 2014 | Unregistered CommenterBarbara

Leave a Reply

