A Busy Weekend

P1040689I had intended that my Easter weekend would be relaxing but even the best laid plans are subject to change.

Over the weekend my Mum became a lady of a “certain age”.  Originally we planned to take her out for the day to Hardwick Hall so that we could meet up with my brother and after the visit return home to enjoy a nice evening meal with her.  Plans changed ten days before the event. Mum decided she wanted to stop overnight which meant that I had to work out somewhere we could stay that served a good evening meal because she wanted to dine in the hotel.

There were some difficulties working out if the hotel meal arrangements were suitable.  The hotel did not have their evening menu on line and booking through a website came back with “you are booked” followed by another email saying “sorry there are no rooms available!”

A quick phone call made to the hotel itself was transferred to the central booking line for the hotel chain. The two rooms were booked and so was with the restaurant (including places for the extra family members that were not staying in the hotel overnight).

Once the plans were finalised we could relax and so we decided to have a couple of friends round on Good Friday afternoon to play board games in the afternoon expecting them to leave in the early evening to enable us to have a good night’s sleep before the grand day out and an early morning departure.

Unfortunately one friend was running behind schedule and phoned up to let us know that he would be an hour late.  The rest of us chatted long past his expected ETA wondering where he had got to!  He eventually turned up almost two hours late!!  On his arrival he said ‘Have you played a game’?  Ermm ‘No we were waiting for you’.  If we had known that he was going to be quite that late we would have played a game.

The late game meant a late dinner and another unexpected problem.  The scallops that looked enough for four when raw reduced to a two person meal when cooked. Mr C was head chef and he beckoned me into his domain.  I advised him against cooking extra ‘frozen’ scallops, but had a brainwave. I remembered we had some salmon in the freezer.  This when added to the stock that the scallops had been cooked in, thawed slowly and cooked to perfection (thankfully).

The late arrival and late meal obviously led to a late departure.  At one stage I had them rounded up and they were about to depart after I said we would have a long day tomorrow.  Then Mr C got them talking again…  Eventually I got to bed.

 I didn’t feel at my best on my journey to Hardwick Hall but I perked up after a bit of lunch and we enjoyed both our visit and the celebratory evening meal. We had to remember to put the clocks forward to BST before going to sleep; we didn’t want to miss breakfast.  We had lunch with my brother before departing for home and cooking and sharing Easter dinner with my Mum.

Needless to say I was rather tired on Monday…

1 thought on “A Busy Weekend

  1. Hardwick Hall looks incredible – thank you for the link.

    It does sound like a very, very busy weekend and I suspect I would have felt like chewed string rather than ‘rather tired’ on Monday. However, I am very glad that the weekend went well including the celebratory evening meal. And a belated Happy Birthday to your mother.
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered Commentersoosie

    Sounds like a weekend filled with unexpected adventure. What a nice way to celebrate both the holiday and your Mom’s birthday together!
    April 5, 2013 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    I bet you were – I was exhausted reading that 🙂 – hotels that are so difficult to book, through online systems, are really annoying aren’t they!!
    Hope you enjoyed it though!
    April 5, 2013 | Registered CommenterEliza

    You write all of this so nonchalantly, Cherry, in a ho-hum kind of way. And knowing you, I can see a few smiles tucked in between the lines. Or not? HA! Sometimes I’d love to be a fly on your wall when you’re with your family. You all sound like a hoot. Or not!

    Happy birthday to your mom of a “cerrttain age.” I’m still trying to guess just exactly what that age might be. 🙂
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    Hardwick Hall looks spectacular! What a wonderful way to spend time celebrating special family time together. It sounds as if ‘all’s well that ends well’…even if you were a little worn out from a full week-end.
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterSue

    Reading this makes me tired Cherry! I hope by now you’ve rested and back at it!
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterGotham Girl aka Robin

    What a busy, beautiful weekend! And, you are like an architect – putting all the pieces in place – creating a lovley space- so that your family and friends can enjoy wonderful time together. I hope you are putting your feet up this weekend! Ps. So…how old is your mom?
    What is that certain age? Whatever it is, sending her birthday wishes from Toronto!
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterJuli

    Mums are precious I am delighted that you are all making her feel special and taking time to enjoy life with her…..great decisions Cherry in spite of the flexibility required (wink!)
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterCatherine

    It’s amazing how quick plans can change and how a good lunch can help! Glad you had time with your Mom on her big day.
    April 5, 2013 | Registered CommenterSusan

    How is it celebrations and holidays become so much work? Happy Birthday to your mom. Have a rest.
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterElena Caravela

    How nice for your mother that you celebrated together – and don’t you hate it when people are so late? A little, I understand – but 2 hours? No call? No notice? Drives me crazy. Maybe it comes from years of being a high school teacher, if a student came in after the bell – I had no tolerance. I’d shut the door when the bell rang so they had to make an entrance – and I kept the other students after class for an extra minute, letting them know it was because of that late student’s tardiness. Nothing like peer pressure to hurry them up next time. Being late is a form of being very rude.
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterBarbara

    As usual your words also make me ponder my own situation. These are the issues I find I just can’t deal with any more. Everything has to be kept simple. It’s a shame, perhaps. I used to be able to cope with so much, perhaps just because I had to. Maybe it’s just a phase I need to go through, or perhaps I’ll sink even further. Good to hear things found a way to turn out OK for you
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterDon QuiScottie

    Holidays are usually so full of new routine and so much excitement…it’s a wonder we survive them! But how fun to get to spend them with those we love. I’m glad it all worked out, and hopefully by now you’ve caught up on your rest.
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterDeborah

    Happy Birthday to your mom. Hope you are having a good rest after the busy weekend…
    April 5, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterZena (healingmoments)

    Hardwick Hall looks like a nice place to spend a day in, Cherry, another jewel of National Trust heritage.

    Changing planes may be quite demanding, especially if it’s not our will. You managed to deal with it successfully, be proud of you! 🙂
    April 6, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterPetra

    It looks like a beautiful place!
    April 6, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    I have to second Barbara’s thoughts…
    But what a nice way to celebrate your mother’s birthday (happy wishes to her!) and the Easter holiday. I can understand that you were tired – I would have been as well!
    April 6, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    Well, it sounds like you handled it all with grace. I’m glad it all worked out in the end, I always find planning and socializing to be quite exhausting, I hope you were able to rest up afterwards!
    April 9, 2013 | Unregistered Commenterkelly

    Though it didn’t work out as planned, I’d say it was a grand weekend nonetheless!
    April 9, 2013 | Unregistered CommenterPuna

Leave a comment