Work Over the Years

When I first started work, it was in a large campus, but as time moved on I changed departments and we relocated into a modern office block with all the mod cons.  Now things have come full circle and we have moved back to our starting place – the large campus.

Recently, whilst making the short walk from my car to the office, I was daydreaming about how the campus used to be like a small village with its own bank, post office, canteen and shop.  The bank and post office have long since gone.  I used to catch the bus to work, which dropped me off near a footbridge (that is no longer there) which led to one of the entrances into work.  The path took me past a row of field guns all pointing in my direction, which was very intimidating for a 17 year old young lady.

I then reminisced about the nearby pubs that we used when celebrating peoples birthdays and retirements during lunchtimes.   Many of these pubs have disappeared over the last few years too.  Thinking these thoughts, I was in my own little world as I walked past the trees that were waving in the breeze and towards the zebra crossing which is right outside my building.  I was vaguely aware of a car slowing down, which is quite unusual, as I stepped onto the zebra crossing.  Drivers normally speed past, ignoring the crossing and anyone who might be on it.

Then I heard someone calling my name, I turned round to see that the driver of the car was one of my former colleagues whom I hadn’t seen for 15 years, and who was obviously pleased to see me.  It was a blast from the past and the good old days, that time when I worked in the personnel department.

Later in the day I bumped into another of my colleagues from those days in personnel and he began reminiscing over those days and the building and the people we used to work with.  So it isn’t just me.  Perhaps it can be put down to being a certain age…

We were remembering a time before the increase of work and the resultant increase of staff forced our move to the larger, brand new, shiny office complex.  This was before all the current Civil Service staff reductions, threats to jobs and other uncertainties.  We have recently vacated the shiny office complex (which was not so shiny when we left) and are back where we started in the old place.  I work in the same building (now refurbished) I was in when I worked in personnel.

Despite all the changes over the years the whole place still feels like home to me…

1 thought on “Work Over the Years

  1. And a home we all need, it is our base I think
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterChantal

    Life always brings so many changes, yet in the end it always seems to go full circle. It’s good to know you are still feeling at home. 🙂
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterAnyes – Far Away in the Sunshine

    I visit sometimes with my best friend of hospital years when I go back “home”. The department has been chiseled, chopped and mixed around. Nooks and crannies filled where there was open space and lounges – once upon a time.
    I only wish the changes had brought more effectiveness or a better environment for the caregivers and recipients. Sadly not so.
    Thankfully the heart of the place is it’s people and many of them are still there, and that is a good thing.
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterMarie

    No matter where we travel in life..there is always something so welcoming about the place in which we began. It’s sounding like you’ve – in some ways – returned ‘home’. Nice to have so many who have travelled the journey with you..who share in your memories of what was and now is again.
    August 3, 2011 | Registered CommenterMarcie

    Usually when I go back that far in time, Cherry, everything seems so much smaller and shabbier. I’d love to go back one day, for instance, to a place where I once lived and see it looking even better than what I remembered it. Maybe it’s seeing the same people that makes a difference? In that regard, good for you. Work coming around full circle and still florishing. That’s really saying something!
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterGinnie

    the gentle pace of the post that brought us through the circle was a peaceful way to begin a day. nice.
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered Commenterhoney

    I like how you see it as coming full circle – and that you still feel at home at your workplace and like it. That is so important. I felt a big smile on my face when I read the word “zebra crossing” – they don’t say that here in the States, and I’m so used to the zebra from my native Germany. It was good to read that, thank you.
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterCarola

    Cherry, what a beautiful image! I don’t know why, but while reading your words and really looking at the image I had this true sense of reminiscing!
    How lovely!!
    August 3, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterMary Sherman

    Really lovely image! I think we all have a place where we belong and for most of us being able to get back to it is a great thing. Nice post!
    August 4, 2011 | Unregistered Commentersil

    good shot, love your POV. Your post makes me think of the high-school reunion I was recently invited to, which will take place in October. thanks
    August 4, 2011 | Registered CommenterPetra

    When you’ve worked somewhere for a long time, you see a lot of changes. I’ve been in one place for 30 years but it’s like a different company now. It’s fun to talk with people who “remember when”.
    August 4, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterMaery Rose

    What goes around, comes around.. but how nice that you have come full circle, so often these days it seems that people don’t stay at one job for any length of time. What a lovely image!
    August 6, 2011 | Unregistered Commenterkelly

Leave a comment